,
Message sent from:

Locality

We have two lovely ponds within easy walking distance of the school

pond1(1)
pond2(1)

Stanmore also boasts a major Tudor building
Cottrell Cottages date from 1575 and as such this building is recognised as the longest Tudor jetted building in England.

stanmoretudorbuilding

Our Old Infant School
These cottages remain as a reminder of our educational heritage. Unlike the Victorian School lower down on the hill, they remain to this day, albeit behind a fog of plants and foliage.

oldinfantschool

The Abercorn Arms
Stage coaches changed horses here at the 'Abercorn' en route to Watford after journeying from Holborn via the Welsh Harp.

abercornarms(1)

Bernays Family
The Revd Stewart Bernays was Rector of Great Stanmore. His family name lives on in the 1870 Institute next to Sainsbury’s!

bernayshome

Bernays Garden
The Bernays Garden is a quiet, secluded garden a stone's throw from St John's Church. It is a haven of peace right by the Uxbridge Road.

bernaysgarden

Sir William S. Gilbert
W.S. Gilbert, lyricist to Sir Arthur Sullivan is buried in St John's, Great Stanmore.

Gilbert's House in Stanmore
Gilbert's home, Grim's Dyke is now a hotel. On 29 May 1911, Gilbert was giving swimming lessons to two young ladies in the lake of his home when one of them lost her footing and called for help. Gilbert dived in to save her, but suffered a heart attack in the middle of the lake and drowned. His ashes were buried at St John's.

gilbertshouse

Parkland near the school has a herd of fallow deer

deer-parkland

St John's Church
Stanmore is probably unique in having two parish churches within a stone's throw of each other. The old church dating from the 17th Century was left in ruin by the Victorians whilst a bigger church was built next door. The Earl of Aberdeen (Prime Minister from 1852-1855) is buried here. His son, the Honourable Douglas Gordon, was Rector at the time. The actual burial spot was forgotten till workmen discovered the vault by accident in 1991. It made national news at the time.

stjohnschurch-old(1)

The 4th Earl of Aberdeen, Prime Minister 1852-1855
 (Photo copyright and courtesy of Dr Freddie Hicks)​
The Earl Of Aberdeen's coffin with his coronet placed on it.
Aberdeen was the cousin of poet Lord Byron and as a young man closely resembled him with his mop of dark curly hair. His poor handling of the Crimean War led to his resignation.
The present church - Queen Adelaide (wife of William IV) made her last public appearance at the foundation stone ceremony.

Queen Adelaide
The present church - Queen Adelaide (wife of William IV) made her last public appearance at the foundation stone ceremony.
H.M. Queen Adelaide (1792-1849) in her coronation robes. She spent her last years as Dowager Queen at Bentley Priory, just a stone's throw from our school. The city of Adelaide, Australia is named after her.

queenadelaide(1792-1849)

Bentley Priory

Bentley Priory is located in Stanmore, is's now new hosuing.

bentleypriorybentleypriorysiteofssi

Sir Hugh Dowding
Bentley Priory is famous for being the nerve centre of Fighter Command during the Battle of Britain in the Second World war. It was here that the battle was fought and won thanks to the brave pilots and Dowdings shrewd tactical efforts.
Sir Hugh Dowding (1882-1970)

sirhughdowding

Operations Room

The nerve centre of the Battle of Britain. Looking much calmer nearly 70 years on from the battle. The same room during operations 1940
The dome of the 'Rotunda'.  
 

Site of a Roman Pottery
Stanmore has an ancient history for sure! In fact we are in the process of locating a prehistoric burial place here. We are grateful to Lucy White for sending us this photo showing the site of a Roman Pottery in Stanmore very near the National Orthopaedic Hospital dating back c. 2,000 years......
Photo - courtesy of Lucy White June 2009

siteofromanpottery

St Lawrence's Church, Little Stanmore
We are indeed fortunate to have our school in an area which has a spacious natural environment around it and a concentration of lovely buildings and architecture. Standing out is the magnificent church of St Lawrence, Little Stanmore. The church, just a few minutes from the school is unique in having the only continental baroque interior in England.

stlawrenceschurch-littlestanmore

The floodlit church at dusk

An attractive building from the outside, and specially with its medieval tower - but - on the inside a surprise awaits to take away the breath! The first Duke of Chandos lavished money on this building making it into his private chapel whilst his Stately Home of Canons was being built. He brought in the finest artists from all round Europe and here in England to decorate the building.

James Brydges, First Duke of Chandos

jamesbrydgesfirstdukeofchandos

Chandos, the richest man in England at the time spared no expense on the craftsman and artists he used. The organ, centrally placed behind the altar was carved by Grinling Gibbons, the wood carver Sir Christopher Wren used at St Pauls. Handel, likewise was lured into the service of Chandos and for two years 1717-1718 became his composer in residence.

George Frederic Handel 1685-1759

georgefhandel1685-1759

Handel composed many works whilst in the employ of the Duke of Chandos and all them were first performed in St Lawrence. Handel himself would have played the organ here for those performances

zebrakeyboardplayedbyhandel

The actual 'zebra' keyboard that Handel played.

The keyboard above is preserved at St Lawrence for visitors to see. It is called a zebra keyboard due to its split black notes. The present restored keyboards have the same arrangement.