100_2616(8)

Welcome to our school's website

Welcome to St John’s Church of England School - I am proud to be the Headteacher of St John’s Church of England School in Stanmore, a Voluntary Aided primary school with a great reputation and high standards. We offer something very special to our children; an excellent education in a secure, friendly and happy learning environment. The school is a lively caring community, supported by an energetic and committed staff. We currently have 420 pupils on roll from diverse groups in Harrow as well as neighbouring boroughs and we warmly welcome children – those of Christian faith, other faiths and of no faith to share our Christian Ethos which permeates and underpins everything we do here at St John’s. Our challenging curriculum is engaging for all, enabling our children to become independent learners and preparing them for the next step on their learning journey. We also see the importance in developing their abilities in other areas such as music and sport. Everyone at St John’s believes in our vision to make a difference………….. and we most certainly do. We are a very popular school in amazing surroundings on Stanmore Hill, please do come and see it for yourself. We welcome visitors on Tuesday mornings at 9.30am to see the school in action.

Parents - please remember that the school is closed on Bank Holiday Monday and again on Thursday 4th May (staff inset day). Please also note that the school is being used as a polling station on Thursday 8th June - therefore it will be closed to pupils

For information about After School Clubs please CLICK HERE

Check out our new page on E-Safety - Updated for 2017!

TERM DATES

Autumn Term 2016

Thursday 1 September – Wednesday 21 December 2016

Thursday 1 September – Staff Inset Day

Friday 2 September – Staff Inset Day

Monday 5 September – Children Return

Half term: Monday 24 – Friday 28 October 2016

Monday 31 October – Staff Inset Day

Autumn Term ends Wednesday 21 December 2016 1.30pm

Spring Term 2017

Thursday 5 January – Friday 31 March 2017

Half term: Monday 13 – Friday 17 February 2017

Monday 20 February 2017 – Staff Inset

Spring Term ends Friday 31 March 2017 1.30pm

Summer Term 2017

Tuesday 18 April 2017 – Friday 21 July 2017

Monday 1 May – Bank Holiday

Thursday 4 May – Staff Inset Day

Half term: Monday 29 May – Friday 2 June 2017

Thursday 8 June – Polling Day - school closed to pupils

Summer Term ends Friday 21 July 2017 1.30pm

Autumn Term 2017

Monday 4 September - Wednesday 20 December 2017

Monday 4 September – Staff Inset Day

Tuesday 5 September - Staff Inset Day

Friday 20 October - Staff Inset Day

Half term: Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October 2017

Autumn Term ends Wednesday 20 December 1.30pm

SCHOOL MENU

All souls orchestra

 

On Monday 6th March KS2 children were treated to a pre-concert visit by some of the musicians from All Souls Orchestra who will be taking part in Prom Praise. Caroline and her team gave an assembly to the whole of KS2 and then followed this with a workshop for those going to Prom Praise.

The team demonstrated their instruments and they asked quite complex questions which got the children thinking about how each instrument produces its sound. The children acted out a short part of the parable of the Lost Son, which is the theme for this years Prom Praise and they also taught the children a song that we will be singing on the evening.

It was a thoroughly enjoyable time and the children were all enthused about their forthcoming trip.

BECOME A HARROW TEACHER